Trumpeter SCUD-B

Vehicles with tracks, guns or camouflage, etc.

Trumpeter SCUD-B

Sponsor

Sponsor

Trumpeter SCUD-B

Postby snapdragon » Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:59 pm

I finally got a reasonable UK price for this from my Local retailer.

This kit caused a stir amongst Russian fans on its announcement as the only kit in town of this was Dragon's kit in 1/35. I had dealings with this in my younger days and it was horrible. I had so many fit issues that it eventually hit the bin. Trumpeter originally announced this kit as a SCUD-C followed by meng who announced their own SCUD-B. Now those in the know about these ballistic mobile platforms pointed out to Trumpeter that what they were actually producing was a SCUD-B. The difference is only in the rocket as there is an 8ft difference in height between the SCUD-B and C variants with the SCUD-C being taller and so the protection rail on the transporter is removed to accommodate the SCUD-C. The transporter remains the same.

I am not an expert on ballistic mobile platforms but I know a good kit when I see one and Trumpeter have produced a corker with this, but before I get into the box then I need to get something off my chest.

Trumpeter Announced this not only as a new kit but a special item for their 20th anniversary at a very special price as a thank you to their fans and customers. This statement is on their Facebook page. Most importers and distributers have done that apart from the UK importer/distributer who have angered fans by setting a price of this kit of £95 and the attitude of this is the price buy it or not. The same company also import HK models and also have upset a lot of model builders and some retailers by setting what some have said are unreasonable prices for HK kits.

On to the Kit.