Tom's 00 gauge railway project.

....or trams. Keep this section on the right track !

Sponsor

Sponsor

Postby tom1992 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:14 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm having a go at building a small 00 gauge layout for myself and my 2 kids when they're eventually old enough to 'play' trains!
I've been a modeller for many years and used to 'play trains' at a local model railway club back in my childhood but until now I have never had a go at building my own layout.

So, here goes! Now, as this is my very first attempt at building a model railway there is likely to be a VERY steep learning curve, plenty of :angry-cussingblack: and :angry-screaming: and certainly lots of these :angry-chillpill: needed but eventually I hope to produce a simple shunting puzzle type layout. Any help, advice and suggestions from anyone (probably most of you reading in this section) with more experience than me wpuld be very welcome and appreciated! :D

Right, lets get down to business! This is what I hope to produce, An 8ft X 2ft foldable layout of a timber mill based in the Forrest of Dean area,

It features a loading depot with a warehouse, several workshop type buildings, an admin complex, a central bridge feature and a removable cassette type fiddleyard. this project is intended to be simple to operate a fun shunting puzzle to keep the 'playability' high. :)

any thoughts so far guys? :shifty:
Cheers,
Tom.

BIGGEST IS ALWAYS BEST ;)

Built: Tiger Tank, Bismarck, 'O' gauge Canal boats.
Currently building: Lancaster Bomber, DC-3, 00 gauge model railway, Wasa
tom1992
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Re: Tom's 00 gauge railway project.

Postby royjess » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:42 pm

Go for it, model railways are great fun, shunting trains is a lot of fun.

There is a lot of variably skills involved in building a model railway, a great way to learn electrics, scenery as well as kit building.
Completed Builds Hachette - The Black Pearl
Completed Builds DeAgostini - Build the Millennium Falcon